Gnomon & Munky King! Overdue!

So my pc decided to forsake me and crap out. But after a shop vac, a can of air and a screwdriver it now seems to be .. somewhat stable. Somewhat being the operative term.

I’m close to getting 1000 page hits and I just wanted to say thank you for stopping by and taking interest in my work. Thank you! And now on to the cool stuff!

So as you may have read, I had two firsts on September 26th. I had my first Los Angeles Art gallery at the Gnomon Gallery! and my first submission to a custom art show with Munky King! Both happening at roughly the same time, and about a mile and a half apart. I can say it was a blast, stressful as hell and awesome at all the same time. I met some amazing artists, and got to confuse people with my paintings.

Below are some of the many pictures I took that night, Enjoy! And if you were able to see them in person, let me know what you thought! I’d love as much feedback as possible!

Munky King Entrance – They packed so much awesome work in such a small space. I love going there. I can’t help but feel inspired.. Even if it’s an hour drive!

Entrance to Munkey King - I wanted that huge FUNKEY!

Entrance to Munkey King - I wanted that huge FUNKEY!

Candid picture of onlookers checking out the various custom FUNKEYS!

Candid picture in the back gallery.

Candid picture in the back gallery.

Close in shot of GaDzooky! And yes, that’s my name!

GaDzooky!

GaDzooky!

Then I went over to The Gnomon Gallery where I would remain for the rest of the night! Big huge gaping awesome thanks to Brian Whitmire for putting up with my crap and letting me be a part of an amazing event. It hopefully will be the the first in amongst many future galleries.

When you made it through the winding maze of the Gnomon back parking lot, you were rewarded with a DJ, various wine or beer and cheeses. Oh yeah.. and highlights of some of the artists’ pieces projected on the side of a building CLEARLY seen from North Cahuenga Boulevard. I almost choked on a wedge of cheese when I saw this.

Silly Cephelapod - You can see that from the road!

Silly Cephelapod - You can see that from the road!

A snapshot of me standing next to my name! It’s still weird to read it.

Its a me! Mario! Wait no thats wrong.

It's a me! Mario! Wait no that's wrong.

And here is me (again!?) standing in front of my hung pieces. I’m glowing because it was hot, I like wine, and I was giddy.

Me & My work! And an awesome flash .. meh.

Me & My work! And an awesome flash .. meh.

So yeah! I’ve been exasperatingly busy with stuff aside from my computer dumping on me. I shall have updates again soon. Possibly a post tomorrow or as soon as possible.

Trying to clear my plate to take on some Halloween work. Halloween work? I’ve said too much.

My goatee has paint in it?

~ by bdicks on October 10, 2008.

3 Responses to “Gnomon & Munky King! Overdue!”

  1. Most awesome – badassery! Wish I coulda been there, looked like it was fun, and the work just looked great!

  2. Congratulations brother man!

    So wish I could have seen them in person =\

  3. […] are pictures from the Osmosis show up on my blog. […]

Leave a Reply

 
