Dunny Custom: ‘Zombie Bunny’

As a designer toy collector .. or whatever they’re called .. I can say that I do not like getting duplicate blind box figurines. Especially when they are ones that I don’t particularly care for. They just kind of crowd up the back of my case and shelves in little piles. And for a while I actually stopped collecting because I had run out of room. Well that all changed when I got a giant glass shelf, well the only thing that changed was where my pile of unwanted doubles. That’s when a good friend of mine Mike ‘The Wolfman’ Holcomb said “Hey Brandon, we should make our own custom dunny’s!”. To which I replied “Why haven’t I thought of that sooner!?!”.

Quite side note – This is a Dunny – http://www.kidrobot.com/2008/ds5/?p=about – It’s a 3″ toy made by Kidrobot that comes in a ‘blind box’. They have different series of them – currently Series 5 is on the shelves. I get them from either Munky King, the L.A. Kidrobot store, or the site MyPlasticHeart.

So I researched some templates for Dunnys (a Kidrobot toy) and I found a very nice pdf you can download for yourself at Reactor-88! So after some brainstorming/zombie boardgames Mike & I decided we should make zombies. So armed with that concept, the template pdf & Photoshop I whipped this together:

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny color study

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny color study

.

So we finally met up and started work on the Dunnys. It turns out, I’m a very slow painter when there is a TV on. Actually – I’m just easily distracted. Here’s a shot of the base white coat build up.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny base coat.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny base coat.

.

So yeah here was is a picture of Mike’s finished zombie and my still work in progress one. For his first one I still think it looks awesome – and REALLY creepy. Mine however has a bathing suit on.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny work in progress

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny work in progress.

.

Here is it once I sat down and focused. I think it turned out really well. Lots of pictures!

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny turn around

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny turn around.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny showing the scale.

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny scale

Dunny Custom - Zombie Bunny better scale.

..

All that’s really left to do is blast it with a coat of Matte Finish and then I’m either going to put him in my display case or sell him. I’ll probably put a post in the Kidrobot forums under they’re customs section.

I also have the next design already printed out, and the paints already mixed.

If you’re interested in having a custom of your very own – **Contact me**

My goatee smells like paint.

~ by bdicks on October 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
